Nourishing Practices and Sesame Seed Milk

IMG_0738My apologies for my absence in this space! We are now in our second week in a new house and new city, and I needed all the attention and time and energy I could muster for keeping my health coaching practice going while also packing and moving with a toddler. Things are finally starting to calm down enough for me to not only spend time in my kitchen, but also to blog about it.

Additionally, I’ve taken a break from my group coaching in order to align myself to the Ayurvedic practices in which I’ve been trained. Many of them were put on hold to push through a stressful season of life when I needed them most. A time that left me feeling weak and vulnerable, which was magnified by some unkind words from a distant friend. It’s forced me once again to recognize the power that words do have and how very responsible we are for how we use our words when we speak to others.

This raw, vulnerable, weak time has also painfully aggravated my already vata-like tendencies, so I knew that before we were even fully unpacked, it’s time for some ojas building food and daily practices. It was also time for me to cut out distractions in my life that took me away from my center. So I snuck away from all of our duties for the day and headed for the mountains. I’ve transitioned from a challenging vinyasa yoga practice to be half rejuvenating and half restorative. I’ve been digging in the dirt with my son and planting flowers and seeds. I’ve been taking time to focus on a breath and meditation practice each day. I’ve made my own bath cures and soaked, and been taking time to dry skin brush and do self massage with warm coconut-sandalwood oil.

IMG_0719IMG_0727IMG_0726I’ve also made some beautiful Spring dishes. I’ve been soaking beans and making warm hummus to top salads on warmer days and cooking vegetables and making soups and kitcharis on the cold, rainy days we’ve had.   I feel like we’re definitely in the transition season of Spring–the days fluctuating between feeling like early summer and the next cold enough for snow. Our food choices have followed, and again, I really have been trying to focus on nourishing my body with as many powerful nutrients as possible. Warm, not overcooked vegetables with coconut oil or ghee are so nourishing to the body. So too is the sesame milk that Easton and I have been enjoying lately.

IMG_0742This morning we had warm buckwheat porridge topped with mangos, hemp seeds and this coconut pecan probiotic breakfast boost. Both of us couldn’t get enough, and it feels so good to know we are nourishing our bodies with food that is so nutrient-rich. Buckwheat is  loaded with manganese, magnesium, copper, and zinc, which are great for the immune system. Hemp seeds and the breakfast boost contain a healthy dose of blood-sugar stabilizing Omega 3 fatty acids. And sesame seed milk is high in calcium and good for bone health, along with a host of other benefits. Here are a few of the many links touting the health benefits of sesame seeds.

http://www.nutrition-and-you.com/sesame-seeds.html

http://www.greenmedinfo.com/blog/open-sesame-10-amazing-health-benefits-super-seed

http://www.whfoods.com/genpage.php?tname=foodspice&dbid=84

Check them out if you have time, and if you don’t, you can still make a batch of sesame milk in your own home. It doesn’t take long at all, and you can store your milk for 4-5 days in your refrigerator. As a new mom with a son who doesn’t seem to digest dairy well, I’ve been worrying about all the additives in nut milks that can be purchased at the grocery store. Additionally, I want to be sure his growing bones are getting enough calcium! We both love the taste of this recipe:

Sesame Seed Milk

*1 cup sesame seeds

*4 cups purified water

*1/8 tsp pink Himalayan salt

*Sweetener of your choice (2 soaked dates, 1/4 cup soaked raisins, 1 tbsp maple syrup or raw honey)

*a cap full of vanilla extract (optional)

Soak the sesame seeds in enough water to cover them overnight. We keep ours in a glass container. The next morning, strain and rinse your sesame seeds. Put the rinsed seeds in a high speed blender with 4 cups water and the salt. Blend for 1 minute. Then strain your milk again over a large bowl or pitcher using a cheesecloth (I use this kind). You can save the sesame pulp for other recipes or discard. After you have your milk, rinse your blender and put it back in with the sweetener of your choice. We used raisins in this batch because we had them on hand! Store in glass containers for 4-5 days.

It has a very nutty flavor–and is a tiny bit bitter without the sweetener added. But Easton and I both still love it plain. we enjoy it in smoothies, to make oatmeal or porridge with, and also for chai or turmeric tea in the evening. Hope you enjoy this recipe!

Be well ❤

Keri

6 thoughts on “Nourishing Practices and Sesame Seed Milk

Leave a Reply

