Taco Night Married Up.

IMG_9326I cannot get enough purple cabbage lately. So when I say this Food 52 recipe for Lentil Walnut Tacos with Cabbage-Lime Slaw, I had to make it. But, as usual, I never follow recipes exactly. I planned to do my best following this one, but then I made it home from the grocery store without limes or poblano peppers. Sigh.

And I can never just make one meal if it involves lentils, since my husband won’t eat them. So, since I married a meat eater, I married the meal. Here is his plate:

IMG_9319Sorry about the light. This took a bit longer than I had anticipated to make, and natural light in the winter in Colorado is hard to come by in the evenings. Here is a look at my plate that I had for lunch the next day (and dreamt about the day after that….and the day after that….)

IMG_9332Oh my good. These are just so dang tasty! Even Aaron, who turned up his nose and said, “I don’t want that cabbage crap on mine,” was eating seconds of the cabbage slaw on the side.  Since I didn’t have the lime needed for the Food 52 recipe, I just went rogue and created my own slaw.

So here is how you make this meal–one for a meat eater and one for a vegan all in the same night. I’d pick a night when you have a bit of extra time, since it took me about 50 minutes from start to finish.

1. Cook the lentils on the stove top. Their recipe called from 1 and 1/2 cups (which I put in dry), but I used 1 cup of cooked lentils and had leftover lentils for another recipe later in the week.

2. Make the slaw. It’s the same for both eaters, so here is my recipe and method:

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 head of green cabbage, thinly shredded and tightly packed
  • 1/2 head of red cabbage, thinly shredded and tightly packed
  • 1/2 orange bell pepper, sliced into thin strips
  • 1/2 red bell pepper, sliced into thin strips
  • 1/2 cup cilantro leaves, chopped
  • 2 tablespoons olive oil
  • 2 tablespoons Bragg’s Apple Cider Vinegar
  • 1 small clove garlic, minced
  • 2 teaspoons raw honey
  • 1/2 tsp cumin
  • 1/2 tsp paprika
  • sea salt & black pepper to taste
  • dash red pepper flakes (or to taste), optional

Method.

Chop the veggies. In a separate bowl, mix the rest of the ingredients and spices well. Drizzle over cabbage & peppers and stir, stir, stir. At the last minute, I threw in a handful of tamari sunflower seeds as well 😁.

Now for the madness of cooking up two different but similar meals.

Screen shot 2015-02-04 at 2.47.04 PMScreen shot 2015-02-04 at 2.47.34 PM

Method to the madness.

In his pan add meat. In her pan, add lentils and walnuts. Brown meat and lentil/walnut mix for about 5 minutes on medium high heat. Then add the spices. Let brown a bit longer while you heat up some taco shells in a toaster oven. His is topped with shredded mexican cheese (I know–wood pulp cheese!), mine is topped with cabbage slaw. His is garnished with sriracha, mine with a little extra cilantro.

And both of us went to bed happy. If you’re a paleo/vegan family, ditch the cheese and serve these up on some extra cabbage leaves! (also omit the Bragg’s liquid aminos–use coconut aminos instead).

With love for meat eaters and plant eaters alike.

Keri

One thought on “Taco Night Married Up.

  1. Pingback: A Very Inspiring Blogger Award For Me?! | Owl🌛 Wonder

Leave a Reply

